Background

Baden-Wurttemberg

People in Baden-Wurttemberg are not keen to talk in superlatives, even though the state continually sets records. The region around Stuttgart, Karlsruhe and Tübingen is one of those in the EU where the most research is conducted. Baden-Wurttemberg is the German leader for patent registrations in terms of population, and famed for its inventors, such as Gottlieb Daimler, Carl Benz and Robert Bosch. Not only companies such as Bosch, Daimler, Porsche and Boss, but also small and medium-sized businesses such as Fischer (dowels), Stihl (saws) and Würth (screws) export their goods worldwide. Yet here, there is more to life than just work: Nowhere else in the country do so many starred chefs ply their trade. And the local wines are so good as to be an inside tip.

Capital: Stuttgart
Population: 10,716,644
Surface area: 35,751 km2

 

Bavaria

The “beer state” of Bavaria also produces fine wine in the Franconia region. The Oktoberfest, Neuschwanstein Castle and the magnificent Alpine scenery attract more foreign tourists than does any other federal state. Yet the slogan “Laptop and Lederhose” demonstrates that there is more to Bavaria than just a lively tradition. Its economy, which is stronger than that of Sweden, boasts global brands such as BMW, Audi, Siemens, MAN and Airbus Defence and Space. The state capital Munich commands top rankings in comparison with other German and international cities. And even outside Munich, Germany’s largest state is thriving: the annual Wagner Festival in Bayreuth is sold out every year, as is the Passion Play in Oberammergau, held once every ten years.

Capital: Munich
Population: 12,691,568
Surface area: 70,550 km2

 

Berlin

Once a year, during the Berlinale film festival, the world of the silver screen focuses its attention on Berlin. And the city’s inhabitants are used to global interest. After all, the people of Berlin have lived in a capital city since 1458. However, there is also a shady side to the city’s history: the rule of the National Socialists and the East German regime, which built a wall right through the heart of the city. Since German unification in 1990, Berlin has once again been the undivided capital city. The Museum Island, the Berlin Philharmonic and more than 50 theaters ensure the city is unique in terms of cultural life. The “academic capital” boasts 39 universities and institutes of higher education, while also being home to businesses such as Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals, while ITB, the worlds leading travel trade show, accentuates the slogan “Berlin is worth seeing”.

Capital: Berlin
Population: 3,469,849
Surface area: 892 km2

Brandenburg

Brandenburg surrounds the capital city of Berlin and benefits from the latter’s “gin and martini belt”. However, with its numerous lakes and forests it also has several trump cards of its own. With the Hohenzollern castles, and in particular Sanssouci Castle, which is included in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List, the heart of the Kingdom of Prussia possesses jewels of courtly architecture. Indeed Potsdam is considered one of Germany’s most beautiful cities, featuring many architectural highlights. Today the citizens of Brandenburg boast Hollywood productions in the film-producing town of Babelsberg, the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt an der Oder and more than 300 foreign companies, including the German HQ of Ebay.

Capital: Potsdam
Population: 2,457,872
Surface area: 29,654 km2

 

Bremen

The Hanseatic city of Bremen arose through classic maritime trading, in particular with coffee. In the smallest of the federal states (divided into the city of Bremen, and Bremerhaven, some 60 kilometers to the north) the port accounts for every fifth job. The largest private employer, however, is Daimler; and the ports turn around 2.3 million vehicles annually. The state’s cultural life is also influenced by commerce: The Überseemuseum (Overseas Museum) and the Deutsches Schiffahrtsmuseum (Maritime Museum) attract visitors from all over the country. The merchants’ wealth led to the birth of a truly beautiful architectural ensemble: the town hall market square with its Baroque and Renaissance buildings, a tribute to the city’s rich history, which began when it was awarded market rights back in 888.

Capital: Bremen
Population: 661,888
Surface area: 419 km2

 

Hamburg

In the city and state of Hamburg it is the port that is the power-house of the economy, though with Airbus, Otto Versand and Beiersdorf also located here, this is not immediately apparent. The tanker terminals, mean that almost all the major oil-refining companies are represented in the port. For pleasure-seekers, there is the entertainment district of St. Pauli. Yet Hamburg’s reputation as a media and science center is of greater importance to its inhabitants. The need for culture is satisfied by renowned institutes such as the Kunsthalle and more than 30  theaters – including the state opera company with world ballet star John Neumeier. On a national basis Hamburg leads the way when it comes to musicals, which every month bring thousands of visitors thronging to the city.

Capital: Hamburg
Population: 1,762,791
Surface area: 755 km2

 

Hesse

Frankfurt am Main is really the only city in Germany that has an international feel to it: The tallest buildings in Germany, the largest airport (alongside Paris Charles de Gaulle) and the most banks in continental Europe (including the European Central Bank). And the list of superlatives does not stop there; for example, there is the railroad station and the interstate intersection, both of which boast the highest volume of traffic in Germany. All this, despite the fact that the city has a mere 730,000 inhabitants and is not even the capital of Hesse. The elegant city of Wiesbaden has claim to that title. Otherwise the state of Hesse is rather unassuming, with a densely forested upland range of mountains, blessed with Riesling in the Rheingau region, and industry throughout. Opel in Rüsselsheim and VW near Kassel are the major industries, whereas ESA in Darmstadt is responsible for much of the European space program.

Capital: Wiesbaden
Population: 6,093,888
Surface area: 21,115 km2

 

Lower Saxony

The state of Lower Saxony has the shipbuilders in Papenburg to thank for its regular global TV appearances – every time the Meyer shipyard pilots a new luxury liner down the narrow River Ems. Yet the major industry in this state, which stretches from the holiday islands on the North Sea coast to the Harz Mountains, is the auto industry, including such names as Volkswagen in Wolfsburg and Continental in Hanover, which is likewise the hub for the vast operations of TUI Deutschland, one of Europe’s largest tourism corporation. Furthermore, twice a year the eyes of the world focus on the state capital: for the Hanover Industrial Trade Fair and CeBIT, the world’s largest IT trade fair. Indeed, Hanover has been an international city for a long time now, after all between 1714 and 1837 the rulers of Hanover were also the kings of England.

Capital: Hannover
Population: 7,826,739
Surface area: 47,615 km2

 

Mecklenburg-West Pomerania

It need not be from outer space, even from a plane Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, with more than 2,000 lakes, numerous waterways and lush green inbetween looks particularly attractive. Together with its 350-kilometer-long Baltic coastline, this Northeastern state is the major venue for water sports enthusiasts in the whole of Central Europe. Small wonder, then, that tourism is so important in this federal state. To make certain this remains the case, large parts of the state has been declared a nature conservation area. Away from the tourist centers, wind farms on the Baltic coast and small and medium-sized companies in the nutrition industry are the growth sectors in this, the country’s most thinly populated state. Northern Europe’s two oldest universities and several innovative R&D facilities make the state one of the dynamic regions for high-tech, bio-tech and medi-tech.

Capital: Schwerin
Population: 1,599,138
Surface area: 23,214 km2

 

North Rhine-Westphalia

No state in Germany has more inhabitants than North Rhine-Westphalia, and there is a correspondingly large number of cities: Cologne, with its Gothic cathedral, Bonn, the Federal Republic’s first capital city, Düsseldorf, the fashion-conscious state capital, Aachen, under the rule of Charlemagne the capital of Europe, Duisburg with Europe’s largest inland port, the silk town of Krefeld, the linen town of Bielefeld, not to mention Essen and Dortmund, two major cities in the Ruhr region. They bear witness to the changes Germany’s largest industrial area has seen: coal mining and steel production are more and more replaced by bio-chemicals and high-tech. Yet “NRW”, as the state is referred to, not only has one of Europe’s most highly concentrated research networks, its five UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Sites make it one of the most important cultural regions.

Capital: Düsseldorf
Population: 17,638,098
Surface area: 34,110 km2

 

Rhineland-Palatinate

The Rhine valley between Bingen and Koblenz, a gem that is for the most part located in Rhineland-Palatinate, is a key item on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List. A center of wine and sparkling wine production, the state is also referred to as “Wineland-Palatinate”. Yet from an early date it has been committed to advanced technology, a prime example being chemicals giant BASF. The state has always been innovative, be it on a very longterm basis thanks to Johannes Gutenberg, who invented the first printing press with moveable type in Mainz, or on a more temporary basis with the work of Karl Marx from Trier. Culture and joie-de-vivre are celebrated in all the larger German cities that have Roman history. The festivals staged each year, far more than 50 in total, attest to this.

Capital: Mainz
Population: 4,011,582
Surface area: 19,854 km2

 

Saarland

Saarbrücken’s film festival for German-speaking up-and-coming talent has been the launching pad for many a career, as Franka Potente and Til Schweiger have proved. The state has over the last 200 years changed nationality eight times and the French influence is highly evident. Mining is now no longer the key industry, with steel and car-making competing with IT for the number one slot. The steel industry bequeathed a fascinating attraction: Völklingen Ironworks, which is included in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List. The state’s most famous name, however, has to be that of Villeroy & Boch, a global player in the porcelain market.

Capital: Saarbrücken
Population: 989,035
Surface area: 2,569 km2

 

Saxony

Meissen may well be a small town but, thanks to its porcelain, is as well known as the state capital Dresden and Leipzig, the trade-fair city. The Free State is one of the most dynamic economic regions in East Germany, in particular in IT; precision watch-making and car-making are typical of this new gearing, symbolized by the restored Frauenkirche in Dresden’s Baroque center. As in the past, Saxony’s culture is highly influential in the world of music, represented by the Semper opera house in Dresden and the 800-year old Thomaner Choir in Leipzig, where Johann Sebastian Bach was once a cantor. Is he the greatest Saxon ever? Bach at least has a serious rival – in the person of Richard Wagner.

Capital: Dresden
Population: 4,055,274
Surface area: 18,420 km2

 

Saxony-Anhalt

In honor of its most famous former inhabitant, Georg Friedrich Handel, every year Halle stages a major festival. However, the composer plays second fiddle to Martin Luther, the reformer from Eisleben who transformed the Christian world. As such the town of Wittenberg is one of the most popular tourist spots in a state that boasts a wealth of castles but is also renowned for its chemicals industry. Alongside Magdeburg, Halle is one of the areas in former East Germany that has attracted the most foreign investors since unification. Today, Total maintains a refinery in Leuna, Dow Chemical has a production facility in Schkopau, as does Bayer in Bitterfeld. While nature enthusiasts are drawn to the 1141-meter high Brocken mountain, with its myth-shrouded peak: on the eve of every May 1st witches congregate here to dance.

Capital: Magdeburg
Population: 2,235,548
Surface area: 20,451 km2

 

Schleswig-Holstein

The most feared mythical figure in Schleswig-Holstein is “Blanker Hans”, who stands for the destructive forces of the sea. After all, the most northern of the federal states is bordered by two seas, the North Sea and the Baltic Sea. Since time immemorial, ship-building and fishing have been correspondingly important. Nowadays, however, the main source of income is the service industry, though tourism is also an important economic factor. The North Sea island of Sylt is a fashionable holiday destination. Kiel, the state capital and the Hanseatic city of Lübeck, now immortal thanks to Thomas Mann, vie for the status of most important city. Alongside Puttgarden they are the state’s most important ferry ports for the Scandinavia routes. Parallel to developments in Eastern Europe the state also benefits from the Baltic Sea economic region.

Capital: Kiel
Population: 2,830,864
Surface area:  15,802 km2

 

Thuringia

The mountains in the Thuringian Forest provide a backdrop for one of Germany’s most beautiful trails, the 168-kilometer long Rennsteig. It is just as much a trademark of the state as its long thin sausages, the historic Wartburg and the Weimar poets Goethe and Schiller. However, Thuringia not only has a culinary and literary tradition, it was always a state of researchers. Zeiss and Schott founded the modern optics industry in Jena; Jenoptik is nowadays one of the most important companies there. Erfurt, the state capital, is proud of the flourishing biotechnology and microelectronics solar technology there, in addition to the excellent educational opportunities offered by four institutes of higher education.

Capital: Erfurt
Population: 2,156,759
Surface area:  16,202 km2

Hintergrund

Baden-Württemberg

Über Superlative reden sie nicht gerne, die Menschen in Baden-Württemberg. Dabei sammelt ihr Bundesland Rekorde: Die Region um Stuttgart, Karlsruhe und Tübingen gehört zu den forschungsstärksten der EU. Nirgendwo in Deutschland gibt es gemessen an der Bevölkerung mehr Patentanmeldungen. Für Tüftler ist dieser Landstrich berühmt, Gottlieb Daimler, Carl Benz und Robert Bosch bezeugen das. Nicht nur Bosch, Daimler, Porsche und Boss, sondern auch Mittelständler wie Fischer (Dübel), Stihl (Sägen) und Würth (Schrauben) exportieren ihre Waren in alle Welt. Aber es wird nicht nur „geschafft“ zwischen Heidelberg und Bodensee: Hier gibt es die höchste Sterneköchedichte in Deutschland. Und die Weine sind fast ein Geheimtipp.

Hauptstadt: Stuttgart
Einwohner: 10.716.644
Fläche: 35.751 km2

 

Bayern

Guten (Franken-)Wein keltert auch das „Bierland“ Bayern. Oktoberfest, Schloss Neuschwanstein und Alpenpracht locken mehr ausländische Touristen hierher als in jedes andere Bundesland. Doch Bayern ist mehr als lebendiges Brauchtum. Seine Wirtschaft – sie ist stärker als die Schwedens – glänzt mit Weltmarken wie BMW, Audi, Siemens, MAN und der Airbus Defence and Space. Die Hauptstadt München schneidet in vielen internationalen Städterankings hervorragend ab. Aber auch außerhalb der Metropole glänzt Deutschlands größtes Bundesland: Bayreuth meldet zu den Wagner-Festspielen alljährlich „ausverkauft“. Ähnliches gilt alle zehn Jahre für Oberammergau und seine Passionsspiele.

Hauptstadt: München
Einwohner: 12.691.568
Fläche: 70.550 km2

 

Berlin

Einmal im Jahr, zur Berlinale, richtet die Filmwelt ihren Fokus auf Berlin. Aber globales Interesse sind die Berliner gewohnt. Schließlich sind sie, seit die Hohenzollern 1458 ihre Residenz errichteten, Hauptstädter. Eine Historie, die auch Schatten hat: die Nazi-Herrschaft und das DDR-Regime, das eine Mauer durch die Stadt zog. Seit der deutschen Wiedervereinigung 1990 ist Berlin wieder ungeteilte Hauptstadt mit Weltrang. Die Museumsinsel, Europas größter Museumskomplex, die Berliner Philharmoniker und mehr als 50 Bühnen sorgen für ein einzigartiges Kulturleben. Die „Wissenskapitale“ birgt 31 Universitäten und Hochschulen. Die Wirtschaft glänzt mit Namen wie Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals oder Air Berlin. Und die ITB, die weltgrößte Touristikmesse, akzentuiert den Slogan: Berlin ist eine Reise wert.

Hauptstadt: Berlin
Einwohner: 3.469.849
Fläche: 892 km2

Brandenburg

Brandenburg umschließt die Hauptstadt Berlin und profitiert von seinem „Speckgürtel“. Aber das seen- und waldreiche Land hat eigene Trümpfe. Das Kernland des Königreichs Preußen besitzt mit den Schlössern der Hohenzollern, insbesondere mit dem UNESCO-Welterbe Sanssouci, Juwelen höfischer Baukunst. Doch nicht nur deswegen gilt Potsdam, Brandenburgs Hauptstadt, als eine der schönsten Städte Deutschlands – auch Hugenotten aus den Niederlanden haben mit ihren Bauten dazu beigetragen. Heute schmücken sich die Brandenburger mit Hollywood-Produktionen aus der Filmstadt Babelsberg, mit der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt/Oder und mit mehr als 300 ausländischen Unternehmen, beispielsweise mit der Deutschlandzentrale von Ebay.

Hauptstadt: Potsdam
Einwohner: 2.457.872
Fläche: 29.654 km2

 

Bremen

Mit dem klassischen Seehandel, insbesondere mit Kaffee, ist die Hansestadt Bremen groß geworden. Im kleinsten Bundesland, unterteilt in die Stadt Bremen und das etwa 60 Kilometer entfernte Bremerhaven, sorgt der Hafen für jeden fünften Arbeitsplatz. Größter privater Arbeitgeber ist aber Daimler; Autos spielen generell eine große Rolle: Hier werden jährlich 2,3 Millionen Fahrzeuge ex- oder importiert. Auch die Kultur ist vom Handel geprägt: Das Überseemuseum und das Deutsche Schifffahrtsmuseum ziehen Besucher aus ganz Deutschland an. Der Wohlstand der Kaufleute sorgte überdies für eines der schönsten Städtebau-Ensembles, den Rathausmarkt mit seinen Barock- und Renaissance-Bauten. Ein Tribut an die reiche Geschichte, die 888 mit dem Marktrecht begann.

Hauptstadt: Bremen
Einwohner: 661.888
Fläche: 419 km2

 

Hamburg

Im Stadtstaat Hamburg sorgt der Hafen für den Herzschlag der Wirtschaft, wenngleich Airbus, Otto Versand und der Nivea-Konzern Beiersdorf dies nicht sofort erkennen lassen. Dass aber fast alle großen Ölkonzerne an der Elbe vertreten sind, ist den Tanker-Terminals zu verdanken. Seeleute und Sehleute preisen wohl eher das Vergnügungsquartier St. Pauli. Doch den Hanseaten ist gewiss ihr Rang als Medien- und Wissenschaftszentrum wichtiger. Entsprechend groß ist die Nachfrage nach Kultur. Befriedigt wird der Kulturbedarf von renommierten Museen wie der Kunsthalle und von mehr als 30 Bühnen – einschließlich der Staatsoper mit Ballett-Weltstar John Neumeier. Nationaler Champion ist Hamburg bei den Musical-Theatern, die monatlich Tausende von Besuchern in die Stadt locken.

Hauptstadt: Hamburg
Einwohner: 1.762.791
Fläche: 755 km2

 

Hessen

Wie eine Weltstadt wirkt in Deutschland eigentlich nur Frankfurt am Main: die höchsten Häuser Deutschlands, der größte Flughafen (neben Paris Charles de Gaulle) und die meisten Banken auf dem europäischen Festland (die Europäische Zentralbank inbegriffen). Die Superlative lassen sich fortsetzen, mit dem Bahnhof und dem Autobahnkreuz zum Beispiel – beide sind die verkehrsreichsten Deutschlands. Dabei hat die Stadt nur 701.000 Einwohner und ist nicht einmal die Hauptstadt von Hessen. Mit diesem Titel schmückt sich das elegante Wiesbaden. Ansonsten ist Hessen eher unscheinbar, mit dicht bewaldeten Mittelgebirgen, rieslingselig im Rheingau und überall geschäftig. Opel in Rüsselsheim und VW bei Kassel sind die Industrie-Riesen, die ESA in Darmstadt steuert einen Gutteil der europäischen Weltraum-Aktivitäten.

Hauptstadt: Wiesbaden
Einwohner: 6.093.888
Fläche: 21.115 km2

 

Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Es muss nicht gleich das Weltall sein, schon vom Flugzeug her wirkt Mecklenburg-Vorpommern besonders einladend mit seinen mehr als 2.000 Seen, den vielen Wasserläufen und dem satten Grün dazwischen. Die 350 Kilometer Ostseeküste mitgezählt ist das Bundesland im Nordosten das größte Wassersportrevier Mitteleuropas. Kein Wunder, dass der Tourismus so wichtig in dem Bundesland ist. Damit das so bleibt, sind große Teile des Landes als Schutzgebiet ausgewiesen. Windenergieparks an der Ostseeküste und die mittelständische Ernährungsindustrie sind abseits der Urlaubszentren die Wachstumsbranchen im dünnstbesiedelten Bundesland. Die beiden ältesten Universitäten Nordeuropas und eine Vielzahl innovativer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbetriebe machen das Land zu einer dynamischen Regionen für Hightech, Biotech und Meditech.

Hauptstadt: Schwerin
Einwohner: 1.599.138
Fläche: 23.214 km2

 

Niedersachsen

Den Schiffsbauern von Papenburg verdankt Niedersachsen seine weltweiten TV-Auftritte – immer wenn die Meyer-Werft einen neuen Luxusliner durch die schmale Ems navigiert. Doch die Industrie Nummer eins ist zwischen den Urlaubsinseln an der Nordseeküste und den Bergen des Harz die Autobranche mit Namen wie Volkswagen in Wolfsburg und Continental in Hannover. Dort laufen auch alle Fäden eines der größten Reiseveranstalter Europas, der TUI Deutschland, zusammen. Die Landeshauptstadt findet darüber hinaus zweimal im Jahr globales Interesse, zur Hannover Messe und zur weltgrößten Messe für Informationstechnologie, der CeBIT. Aber international ist Hannover schon lange, schließlich regierten die hannoverschen Herrscher von 1714 bis 1837 zugleich als Könige von England.

Hauptstadt: Hannover
Einwohner: 7.826.739
Fläche: 47.615 km2

 

Nordrhein-Westfalen

Nirgendwo in Deutschland leben mehr Menschen, entsprechend viele Städte gibt es hier: Köln mit seinem gotischen Meisterwerk, dem Dom, Bonn, die erste Hauptstadt der Bundesrepublik, Düsseldorf, die modebewusste Landeshauptstadt, Aachen, unter Kaiser Karl dem Großen die Hauptstadt Europas, Duisburg mit dem größten Binnenhafen des Kontinents, die Seidenstadt Krefeld, die Leinenstadt Bielefeld oder die Ruhrgebietsmetropolen Essen und Dortmund. An ihnen lässt sich der Wandel des immer noch größten deutschen Industriereviers ablesen: Kohle und Stahl weichen werden nun flankiert von Biochemie und Hightech. Doch „NRW“ hat nicht nur ein das dichteste  Forschungsnetz Europas, es zählt mit seinen vier fünf UNESCO-Welterbestätten zu den wichtigen Kulturregionen.

Hauptstadt: Düsseldorf
Einwohner: 17.638.098
Fläche: 34.110 km2

Rheinland-Pfalz

Ein wichtiger Posten auf der UNESCO-Liste der Welterbestätten ist das Rheintal zwischen Bingen und Koblenz, ein Juwel, das größtenteils zu Rheinland-Pfalz gehört. Weinland-Pfalz wird es auch genannt, dieses Zentrum der Wein- und Sektwirtschaft. Darüber könnte man vergessen, dass sich dieses Land schon früh der Spitzentechnologie verschrieben hat – der Chemiegigant BASF ist ein Beispiel. Innovativ war das Land schon immer, sei es mit dauerhafter Wirkung wie Johannes Gutenberg, der in der heutigen Landeshauptstadt Mainz den Buchdruck mit beweglichen Lettern erfand, sei es mit zeitweiliger Wirkung wie das Werk von Karl Marx aus Trier. Doch wo alle größeren Städte römische Gründungen sind, werden auch Kultur und Lebensfreude gepflegt. Davon zeugen jährlich weit mehr als 50 Festivals.

Hauptstadt: Mainz
Einwohner: 4.011.582
Fläche: 19.854 km2

 

Saarland

Saarbrückens Filmfestival „Max Ophüls Preis“ für den deutschsprachigen Nachwuchs hat Karrieren gestartet, Franka Potente und Til Schweiger belegen es. Eine stolze Bilanz für das Bundesland, das binnen 200 Jahren achtmal die Nationalität wechselte. Das Grenzland ist geprägt von Frankreichs Einfluss auf Küche und Lebensstil, dem „Saarvoir vivre“. Die Kohle spielt im früheren Revier keine Rolle mehr, Stahl und Autobau konkurrieren nun mit der aufstrebenden Informatik um die Führungsrolle. Der Stahl hinterließ eine faszinierende Attraktion: die Völklinger Hütte, ein Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Der bekannteste Name dürfte aber der weltweit aktive Porzellankonzern Villeroy & Boch sein.

Hauptstadt: Saarbrücken
Einwohner: 989.035
Fläche: 2.569 km2

 

Sachsen

Meißen ist zwar eine kleine, aber dank ihres Porzellans neben der Landeshauptstadt Dresden und der Messemetropole Leipzig wohl die bekannteste Stadt Sachsens. Der Freistaat gehört zu den dynamischen Wirtschaftsregionen im Osten Deutschlands, vor allem die IT-Branche, der feinmechanische Uhrenbau und der Autobau prägen den Aufbruch, dessen Symbol die wiedererbaute Frauenkirche im barocken Dresden ist. Sachsens Kultur setzt heute wie einst ihre größten Akzente in der Musik, repräsentiert durch Dresdens Semperoper und den 800 Jahre alte Thomanerchor in Leipzig, wo Johann Sebastian Bach als Kantor wirkte. Ist er der größte aller Sachsen? Mit Richard Wagner hat Bach zumindest einen gewichtigen Rivalen.

Hauptstadt: Dresden
Einwohner: 4.055.274
Fläche: 18.420 km2

 

Sachsen-Anhalt

Seinem größten Sohn, Georg Friedrich Händel, richtet Halle alljährlich ein großes Festival aus. Dennoch muss der Barock-Komponist zurückstehen hinter Martin Luther. Der Reformator aus Eisleben veränderte die christliche Welt. Die „Lutherstadt“ Wittenberg ist so einer der meistbesuchten Orte in dem an Burgen und Kirchen reichen Land Sachsen-Anhalt. Bekannt ist aber auch das Chemiedreieck Halle-Merseburg-Bitterfeld. Halle gehört neben Magdeburg zu den Gebieten in den Neuen Ländern, die seit der Wiedervereinigung die meisten ausländischen Investoren angezogen haben. Heute raffiniert Total in Leuna, Dow Chemical produziert in Schkopau, der Chemieriese Bayer in Bitterfeld. Naturfreunde zieht es hingegen zu dem 1.141 Meter hohen Brocken. Sein Gipfel ist mythenumwoben: In der Walpurgisnacht vor dem 1. Mai treffen sich dort die Hexen zum Tanz.

Hauptstadt: Magdeburg
Einwohner: 2.235.548
Fläche: 20.451 km2

 

Schleswig-Holstein

Die gefürchtetste Mythenfigur ist in Schleswig-Holstein der Blanke Hans, steht er doch für die zerstörende Kraft der See. Und das nördlichste Bundesland grenzt gleich an zwei Meere, an Nord- und Ostsee. Entsprechend wichtig sind hier seit alters Schiffsbau und Fischfang. Die Haupteinnahmequelle ist heute allerdings die Dienstleistungswirtschaft, auch der Tourismus ist ein wichtiger Wirtschaftsfaktor. Die Nordseeinsel Sylt gilt als mondäne Urlaubsinsel. Die Landeshauptstadt Kiel und die – durch Thomas Mann unsterblich gewordene – Hansestadt Lübeck streiten um den Rang der bedeutendsten Städte. Beide sind neben Puttgarden die wichtigsten Fährhäfen des Landes für die Skandinavienrouten. Parallel zur Entwicklung in Osteuropa profitiert das Land vom Wirtschaftsraum Ostsee.

Hauptstadt: Kiel
Einwohner: 2.830.864
Fläche:  15.802 km2

 

Thüringen

Die Berge des Thüringer Waldes liefern die Kulisse für einen der schönsten deutschen Wanderwege, den 168 Kilometer langen Rennsteig. Er ist ebenso Markenzeichen für das Land wie seine Rostbratwürste, die historische Wartburg oder die Dichterfürsten Goethe und Schiller, die lange in Weimar lebten und wirkten. Thüringen hat aber nicht nur eine kulinarische und literarische Tradition, es war auch stets ein Land der Forscher. In Jena begründeten Zeiss und Schott die moderne optische Industrie; Jenoptik ist heute wieder eine der wichtigsten Firmen. In der Landeshauptstadt Erfurt verweist man aber auch gerne auf die florierende Biotechnologie und die Mikroelektronik, zumal vier Universitäten eine gute Ausbildung bieten.

Hauptstadt: Erfurt
Einwohner: 2.156.759
Fläche:  16.202 km2