Skip to main content
Germany and Europe

Germany is one of the founding members of the European Union. Today it works to strengthen and develop the EU as a guarantor of peace, security and prosperity.

Fahnen Deutschland und Europa
© dpa

Germany – Strong Partner in the EU

The cohesion of the European Union forms the basis for the Member States’ peace, security and prosperity. As one of the founding EU Member States, German actively advocates “more Europe”.

Anwalt europäischer Integration
Advocate of European integration

Germany is one of the founding European Union member states and even in difficult times supports European cohesion.

Read more
EU Green Deal Windenergy
© dpa
Europe’s Green Deal

The European Union’s “Green Deal” provides a masterplan for a just transition to a sustainable, climate-friendly future.

Read more
Olaf Scholz, Emmanuel Macron
© dpa
Franco-German friendship – a driving force

Germany and France share an eventful history. As partners they feel themselves particularly responsible for the future of Europe.

Read more
EU External Action
The EU and its partners

The European Union maintains close and friendly ties with its neighbours.

Read more
EU Staaten

Map of Europe

The five EU countries with the most inhabitants

m. (Source: Eurostat)
Germany Off germany 84
France Off france 68
Italy Off italy 59
Spain Off spain 47
Poland Off poland 38

The four biggest countries in the EU

km² (Source: Eurostat)
Biggest countries
France Off france 633186
Spain Off spain 505944
Sweden Off sweden 438574
Germany Off germany 357588

The five largest economies in the EU

bn euros (Source: Eurostat, 2021)
Germany Off germany 3601
France Off france 2500
Italy Off italy 1782
Spain Off spain 1206
Netherlands Off netherlands 856

Germany’s five most important trading partners in the EU

bn euros (Source: Destatis, 2021)
Trading partners
France Off france 164
Netherlands Off netherlands 206
Italy Off italy 140
Austria Off austria 119
Poland Off poland 142

The three biggest contributors in the EU

bn euros (Source: EU Commission, 2021)
Germany Off germany 25,1
France Off france 12,4
Italy Off italy 3,2

Facts and figures

© dpa
Römische Verträge
© dpa
EU founding member in 1957
Germany was one of the six founding-states of the then EEC.
Climate-neutral Europe by 2050
The EU’s Fit for 55 package is the largest package of climate protection legislation that has been put together anywhere in the world.
© dpa
Deutsch-Französische Truppe
© dpa
21 EU deployments
The EU currently deploys around 4,000 male and female personnel to promote security and stability around the world.
95,5 billion euros
These funds have been allocated to the EU’s Horizon Europe research and innovation programme.


The most important steps along the path to a united Europe and other significant stages of the partnership.

Römische Verträge 1957
© dpa
The process of Euro­pean integration begins.
With the signing of the Treaties of Rome, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands establish the European Economic Community (EEC).
Wahlplakate 1979
© dpa
Members of the public are invited to vote in European elections.
This is the first time that Members of the European Parliament have been directly elected. They had previously been delegated by national parliaments.
© dpa
Visible signs of European integration at the borders:
in Schengen in Luxembourg, Germany, France and the Benelux countries agree to end border controls between the states. Other countries join the agreement later.
© dpa
The EU gets its own currency.
Known unofficially as the Eurozone, 20 states make up the Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) of the European Union. They use the euro as their common form of currency.
© dpa
Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Malta and Cyprus
join the EU on 1 May. Bulgaria and Romania followed in 2007.
2013 -2022
2013 -2022
© dpa
Croatia joins the EU in 2013.
The UK ceased to be a member of the EU in February 2020. The current official accession candidates are Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Turkey and Ukraine.